Diatelle contest?

• nmdoza
    14 years ago

Hey everyone. I havn't seen a poetry contest of a diatelle yet, and I think it would be such a good idea for someone to start one. But the thing is, I'm still pretty new to writing so I dont think I would be the best judge or the best person to be reviewing/commenting on other people's poetry.
    But if someone more experienced than me in poetry agree that this could be a good way of trying something unique and creative, you can PM me and we can find a way together on how to judge the winner of this contest. For those who would like to enter as well, please let me know and we can see if this works out or not. And if this were to happen, you can write about anything, as long as it sticks to the proper format of it.

So a diatelle consists of :

a syllable structure of 1/2/3/4/6/8/10/12/10/8/6/4/3/2/1 and has a set rhyme pattern of abbcbccaccbcbba.
    This syle is also best alligned in a diamond shape.

And for those who may find the structure confusing, here is another way of putting it :

Line 1.. 1 syllable/rhyme a
    Line 2.. 2 syllables/rhyme b
    Line 3.. 3 syllables/rhyme b
    Line 4.. 4 syllables/rhyme c
    Line 5.. 6 syllables/rhyme b
    Line 6.. 8 syllables/rhyme c
    Line 7.. 10 syllables/rhyme c
    Line 8.. 12 syllables/rhyme a
    Line 9.. 10 syllables/rhyme c
    Line 10. 8 syllables/rhyme c
    Line 11. 6 syllables/rhyme b
    Line 12. 4 syllables/rhyme c
    Line 13. 3 syllables/rhyme b
    Line 14. 2 syllables/rhyme b
    Line 15. 1 syllable/rhyme a

• Kimberley
    14 years ago

That's so awesome. I vote we try it out for a contest. I've never written one of these before but it looks like a good challenge. :)

• nmdoza
    14 years ago

I know. i think it would be fun to try it out...but so far, i dont think anyone agrees (n) lol :(

• nmdoza
    14 years ago

I know. i think it would be fun to try it out...but so far, i dont think anyone agrees (n) lol :(

• nmdoza
    14 years ago