Intelligent Chat: Raising Children

• Tiny Reader
    18 years ago

Ok I know I'm only 16 and I've had very little experience with looking after children (no younger siblings) but I did my work experience in a nursery and reception class a few months ago. I went in with that approach at first, and couldn't have possibly failed more. They then saw me as a push over (I was working with very manipulative children) and soon I had to change to be more forceful, and I found that hard. I don't want to be like that with children when I have them later, how do you do it and manage to gain their respect?
    Sarah x

• pinkalias
    18 years ago

(Are teens included in this?)
    My dad was one out of twelve, (grew up on a farm in Kansas) so naturally, i have an incredible amount of cousins, many of them under 10 years old. So when we go visit me and a few other older grandkids end up babysitting...blablabla

SO how i handle kids....obviously I'm not raising them but when I'm entertaining them I find they absolutely love to be tossed around, flipped over, thrown in the air...or they love to use you as a target for numerous things.

--I just realized that had nothing to do with actually raising children...but now you all know what I do when I babysit.

• Tammy
    18 years ago

We have numerous activities we do with our children.
    We all have 4-wheelers or dirt bikes so we ride together & camp for the weekend twice a year. Of course there are riding only trips as well in between.
    Also about once a month or so our daughter & myself have a girls day out... we sometimes get our nails done, go to the mall, Barnes & Noble (our favorite), a movie... pretty much whatever she wants to do that day. On the same day, my husband & the 4 boys have a guys day as well. He lets the boys decide together what they do. Sometimes it's lazer tag or bowling, fishing, a ball game whatever...the kids look forward to these days a lot.