This little globe.

• Kevin
    18 years ago

I'm not that political, or environmental. But i understand that these are the things that will most likely effect if this world goes on, or at the least if we as a species survive much longer on it.

So i ask you all, what do you think needs to be done to sort out our planet. And i mean real answers that you yourself would or do actually do.

I think we all need to read 1984 by George Orwell and realise that it's happening right now...and yes, our only hope lies in the prols.

• HansRik
    18 years ago

Ah... the proles. I believe in sustainability. I am studying Environmental Policy, and though I am just a first year student, I think I comprehend the political and environmental difficulties our globe is encountering at the moment. I think I am the wrong person to ask because I am a hardcore environmentalist who would argue for a zero-growth policy.
    I am a great fan of Orwellian literature, and I am impressed by the accuracy of his prophecies. In any case, I must get ready for lectures. If you are interested in reading my far-fetched hardcore opinions, I shall certainly express them later.
    Au revoir.

• HansRik
    18 years ago

Kevin, are you perchance, familiar with the literature of G Hardin or Meadows et al.? Your title reminds me of "Limits to Growth" published by the Club of Rome, so I was just wondering. Further, the topic you brought about is very similar to those discusses in these books.

• HansRik
    18 years ago

Bob Shank,

I am beginning to think that you share the same love for the environment that I have. At one point, I sincerelt thought that humankind was the cause for all troubles in this most beautiful world: look merely at an urbanised city and tell me truthfully that you believe it to be beautiful. I think you will be unable to do so. Alternatively, look at agricultural land... What is it?