Why does it mean so much to you?

• Baby B
    19 years ago

I know we all write poetry and it means so much to us.
    How much does poetry mean to you? Both writing it and it in general? Also Why does it mean that much to you? Just curious

• julie
    19 years ago

i just like writing a poem then re-reading it and feeling so proud because it was me that wrote it not any one else. it is my piece of art work, my creation!

• gasping for air
    19 years ago

its means alot.... ive been writing it for about four years and i love being able to have the talent to do well at it... because if i didnt i wouldnt have a way to vent the way i feel... poetry is a way of letting things go for me... or enhancing the way i feel... like if im writing a happy poem then im enhancing the way i feel, getting it out into the open... if im writing a sad or angry poem then im venting how i feel... it means alot, cuz like i said i would have all of these feelings bottled up inside of me and thats not good...
    loves and hugs
    Manda Lynn

• Baby B
    19 years ago

I guess we all pretty much have the same answer to my question. We write for ourselves. We write to make a spot in our lives history. Something to look back on. Thanks for responding guys.

• StarGirl
    19 years ago

lol this is a repeative answer.

People write poetry to express apart of themself that they can't express in the normal world.

• Brandon Evans
    19 years ago

I started writing as an escape from a developing drinking problem... Sure enough, it got me straight, but now I'm addicted to writing... lol

(true story by the way)

• Baby B
    19 years ago

I will have to agree with most of you and I think I'll answer my own questions.

I started writing because it stopped me from major breakdowns and it stopped me from cutting myself.