Originality....

• Kevin
    19 years ago

Hey guys,

are you guys as bored as i am of the constant stream of depressing love lost poems that seem to do so well in here? I don't think i'm a great poet, but what i do think i am good at is trying to push past my own smalltime feelings and search out the bigger picture....the potential cause behind it all.

I realise it's arrogant of me to want others to do this, but man....it's really hard to find an original piece of work in here, they're hidden by the usual:

"I'm so sad
    cause you were so bad
    i'm crying at night
    because we had a fight"

I mean come on! is it too much to ask that we actually think about creating something worthwhile.

Again i don't think i'm a good writer especially....but i try to rise above my petty illusions. Any thoughts?

• David
    19 years ago

• Sean Allen
    19 years ago

When anyone writes anything, they are in the constant danger of repeating the words someone has written before. The struggle to be original is definitely not easy, and I agree, most have failed in most of their work. However, I agree with David too, there are some poets who definitely rise above the others when it comes to originality (though maybe not emotional content)

• Gracie Jo
    19 years ago

I agree with both David and Sean on this one. But I do get, in a sense, what you're saying Kevin.

~Grace

• Aken Sol
    19 years ago

You want originality? Go check out the people David listed, Sean Allen, and David V. himself. There are some mad geniuses on this site, just take the time to find them.
    While i am guilty of writing love and lost love poems, i try to keep them 100% original and most of them turn out okay. I knew when i decided to write about love, i had a major possibilty of sounding totally cliche'. I took that risk and, luckily, i turned out alright.
    Aken Sol

• SCARECROW
    19 years ago