though I thought that I drank not that much
    but regardless I asked my dear husband to check
    whether I was sober or drunk
    even though what I drank wasn't wine
    just plain water and such

So when do you use Drunk or Drank?

I came across a sentence that said:

I have never drunk camel's milk before.

I thought the correct way of saying it would have been: I have never drank camel's milk before.

• Star
    2 years ago, updated 2 years ago

What I know is that drank is past tense and drunk past participle which is used in the tenses past/present perfect or sometimes as adjective depending on the word I think

Since in the sentence it’s used with have, doesnt that make it a present perfect? Thats why it’s drunk I guess.

I’m not an expert in grammar lol, so I’m not sure if what I said is right

• Keira Pickard replied to Everlasting

You'll have to ask Dad on this one!!
    I honestly can't work it out. ' Drank' is past tense, so that can only be used in the past. If you say "I'm drunk", then that's present tense . . .but it also can be used as in "I was drunk." It's one of those words which can be placed in either tense as long as it fits into the context - not that that's very helpful.I think it's one of those situations where, if you don't know it, guess. Just go with whatever sounds correct in your head, and I don't think people can point out mistakes that way. Sorry, this isn't the most technical advice!

• Everlasting replied to Star
    2 years ago

Yeah, I read something like that but it doesn’t make much sense because I can write a sentence like:

I have eaten in a restaurant
    I have gone to the doctor
    I have studied in a library

eaten, gone, studied are written in past tense, right?
    So isn’t drank in past tense?

• Everlasting replied to Keira Pickard
    2 years ago

Thank you Keira.

If i say “I’m drunk” then the verb is “to be”?
    drunk would be an adjective, right?