How do you decide what to write about?

• Alec
    17 years ago

I'm a fairly good writer but I need help choosing a topic!!!

• MorbidCupcake
    17 years ago

I listen to music that I really luv and get inspired, or I jus wait til something exciting or intense happens to me, and I jus write.

• Isabelle
    17 years ago

I just go outside, and look at the sunset. Look at the trees whisling. Feel the winter air on my face. I go to school every day. I come home and write about my problems and non-issues. Just think about a subject, and then desribe it.

• Melissa
    17 years ago

For me, it's all about inspiration. Whether it be a feeling, a conversation, a person, or nature etc... But I don't go around looking for it, I just let it fall upon me as if it came from somewhere worth writing about. I find that the more I contemplate on what topic I should scribble, I lose all insight. So my advice it to just let it happen, don't force it! And really believe in whatever you choose.

• Romancing the Darker Side
    17 years ago

I get inspired by everyday life, then try to pick a topic new an interesting, then combine them. That's usually my pick.

• Bridget
    17 years ago

sometimes when i write, i dont't even think of a topic or have any clue at all what I'm going to write about. But i start writing anyway.. just sit there with your pen and paper and start writing, and it will all evolve into something.

• Jen
    17 years ago

i dont usually have a topic i just have a rhyme in my head about things happening around me and then the topic comes clear after i have wrote a few more lines on it,
    it sounds wierd but i never usually have a topic in mind, unless i have aimed to write the poem for some one or as a challenge =]

• Nick who Plays Pool
    17 years ago

Music helps set the mood. Same when writing stories.

• AGirlWorthFightingFor
    17 years ago